Oak Hill Hospital
October 07, 2016

Spring Hill, Florida (October 7, 2016) - Oak Hill Hospital is proud to announce the expansion of its Graduate Medical Education Program to now include an accredited Transitional Year Residency Program. The Transitional Year Residency Program will accept 10 post-graduate year one resident physicians beginning in the summer of 2017.

The program is under the direction of Dean F. Connors, MD, Ph.D., MS. Core faculty includes: Stephen Mitchell, DO, Nikolay Mitzov, MD, Salman Muddassir, MD, and Nicholas Strobbe, DO.

A Transitional Year Program is a post-graduate program that many subspecialty fields require where residents undergo a variety of training experiences before beginning subspecialty training. Some of the fields that require the transitional year before beginning a specialty residency include: anesthesiology, radiology, neurology, dermatology, and ophthalmology. Residents at Oak Hill Hospital will participate in a variety of education and curriculum activities. The rotations include:

  • Internal Medicine
  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Ambulatory Medicine
  • Patient Safety and Quality Improvement
  • Executive Leadership

Physician residents will also select from the following electives based on their special interests and the subspecialty they intend to pursue after their post-graduate transitional year.

  • Anesthesiology
  • Cardiology
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Hematology/Oncology
  • Infectious Disease
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Pulmonology
  • Radiology

"We are proud of our hospital's achievements, the quality of care, and the many important services and educational programs we provide to the people of our community," said Program Director Dr. Dean F. Connors. "Our residents are held to the highest standards of professionalism and system-based practice as well as an evidence-based approach to promote healthcare. We look forward to working with our new residents in their endeavors to achieving their medical career goals," he added.

ATTACHED PHOTO: Dean F. Connors, MD, Ph.D., MS, Program Director